Thought, by itself, moves nothing. -Aristotle

Leave a comment

June 19, 2012 by kayleighknudson

I find that the most awkward entry in a journal is always the first, mainly because there exists a need to explain the motivation to start. At least that has been my experience…

Writing is a funny thing: Once you start getting into more science-oriented classes in school you start to think, “Thank goodness I don’t have to write essays anymore!”  Oddly enough, I have voluntarily submitted myself to that same task that I’ve tried to avoid for so many years.  And doing so on a blog is something I never thought I would do, but here I am… finally caved!

The seed was planted in my head while at dinner about a month ago, following an onslaught of incredible seminars at Palmer College of Chiropractic West’s Homecoming event. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to sit down and talk chiropractic over fish tacos with Dr. Craig Liebenson DC from LA Sport and Spine, author of Rehabilitation of the Spine.  When asked what we as students can do to set ourselves up for practice, most docs give a few helpful but predictable answers. But on this occasion, Dr. Liebenson said without hesitation, “Start a blog!”  In truth, I giggled to myself a bit at that notion… mainly because I was picturing myself like a teenage girl blogging my every ridiculous thought about boys and the latest bands to an internet full of people who probably don’t care.  After a month of browsing some more realistic and educational blogs, I have been dissuaded from my original vision of “blogging”…and here I am!

I’ll be including everything from chiropractic to sports to random life stories, just to keep things interesting. This is my first stab at writing in quite some time, so bear with me!  My mom always told me I was a good writer, but that was generally while proofreading a high school history paper or college application essay… and it was my mom. I’m pretty sure she has to say that!

Leave a comment